We take governance very seriously – we believe strong governance is the mechanism by which we are held to account by the most important people – the pupils, parents and communities served by our academies. You can read more about our approach to governance in our

Governance Scheme of Delegation

Our Members, Trustees and local Governors are committed to #transforminglives. They give of their time and energy to oversee our work and take on a lot of responsibility.

We are always looking for others who may be interested in joining our governance – our mission will only be enhanced if we have more people involved in our governance from a wider variety of professional, social and cultural backgrounds. Please feel free to get in touch with us if you would like to find out more.


NameDate of AppointmentTerm of OfficeDate Stepped DownDeclarations of Interests
Patricia Mary Beanland OBE1 June 2016--Chair of Governors at Moseley Secondary School since 2008
Matthew McDonagh18 January 2018--Employee at Kier Construction since 2018; Director at MMcD Construction Ltd (construction consultancy) since 2016
Gurpreet Bhatia DL24 August 2020--Partner at Harbans Singh & Co since 1995; Deputy Lieutenant of West Midlands since 2017; Advisory/Trustee roles: Centre for Sikh and Punjab Studies (2019), Sant Nirankari Mission (2014), Legacy West Midlands (2017), Your Trust Charity (Sandwell and Birmingham NHS Trust) (2018), Sandwell Business Ambassadors (2020)
Tracy Campbell24 August 2020--Headteacher, Executive Headteacher and Trustee at Plantsbrook Learning Trust since 2014
Bernard Dickenson21 November 20164 yrs 5 months12 May 2021


NameDate of AppointmentTerm of OfficeDate Stepped DownTerm ExpiresAppointed byDeclarations of InterestsBoard Meetings AttendedPossible Board Meetings (2020-21)
Patricia Mary Beanland OBE22 Nov 20164 years-22 Nov 2024Member AppointedChair of Governors at Moseley Secondary School since 200866
Margaret Wilson22 Feb 20184 years-22 Feb 2022Member AppointedSole proprietor of Get Ahead Associates since 2006, CEO at Zenith Multi Academy Trust since 2017, Board Member and Vice Chair at Anglia Ruskin University since 2013, Deputy Lieutenant of Essex since 201846
Phillip Milligan1 Mar 20184 years-1 Mar 2022Co-opted by BoardTrustee at the Samuel White and Lady Middleton Christian Charity and the Samuel White and Francis Willoughby Charity for Relief In Need since Sept 2020; Adviser to Quality Lead at Plantsbrook Learning Trust from Jan 202166
Tom Clark CBE1 Nov 20184 years-1 Nov 2022Member AppointedNational Ambassador for FED (Foundation for Education Development)66
Simon Jones14 Feb 20194 years-14 Feb 2023Member Appointed56
Alistair Milne19 Aug 20194 years-19 Aug 2023Member AppointedFounder and Director at Transformation through People since 2018; Consultant at LIBF since 2019; Trustee at Kenilworth MAT since 202036
Richard Elms16 March 20204 years-16 March 2024Member AppointedWife (Samantha Elms) employed part-time by Academy Transformation Trust since 201966
Richard Priestley6 May 20204 years-6 May 2024Co-opted by BoardEmployee at Regen Holdings Ltd since 2017; Employee and statutory director at Axil Integrated Services Ltd and Regen Devco Ltd since 201856
David Trotman21 Mar 20174 years21 Mar 2021Co-opted by BoardWife (Sue Trotman) is an independent consultant in PE and Dance education since 201733
Bernard Dickenson14 November 20164 yrs 5 months12 May 2021Member Appointed44
Michaela Jackson30 March 20201 yr 5 months18 August 2021Member AppointedHead of Distribution at Columbia Threadneedle Int’l since March 202146

Sub Committees

Audit and Risk CommitteeChairSimon Jones
MemberPhillip Milligan
Finance and Resources CommitteeChairRichard Priestley
MemberRichard Elms and Phil Milligan
Standards and Outcomes CommitteeChairPatricia Beanland
MemberMargaret Wilson, Tom Clark and Richard Elms

Local Academy Committees

Please visit academy websites for details of governor attendance and more information about the work of our Local Academy Committees.

Beck Row Primary AcademyChairLloyd Hughes
Vice ChairJames Bailey
Bristnall Hall AcademyChairSara Burroughs
Vice ChairDavid Hubbard
Caldmore Primary AcademyChairAnnette Crumpton
Vice ChairSharon Dicken
Great Heath AcademyChairLloyd Hughes
Vice ChairVacant
Iceni AcademyChairAlex Smith
Vice ChairAdele Pacini
Jubilee Academy MossleyChairGary Smith
Vice ChairVacant
Kingsmoor AcademyChairMelanie Scull
Vice ChairVacant
Mildenhall College AcademyChairJacqui Burke
Vice ChairVacant
North Walsall Primary AcademyChairWendy Browning-Sampson
Vice ChairSaima Kauser
Phoenix AcademyChairDavid Grice
Vice ChairNeil Toplass
Pool Hayes AcademyChairJacqueline Thompson
Vice ChairLynne Williams
Ravens AcademyChairVacant
Vice ChairTim Sutton
Star Academy SandyfordChairSue Finney
Vice ChairFather Chris Routledge
Sun Academy BradwellChairSue Finney
Vice ChairFather Chris Routledge
Sutton Community AcademyChairPete Edwards
Vice ChairLinda Hill
The Dukeries AcademyChairGill Empson
Vice ChairTony Spratley
The Hathaway AcademyChairStephen Sweeting
Vice ChairVacant
The Nicholas Hamond AcademyChairPhil Anderson
Vice ChairVacant
The Queen Elizabeth AcademyChairAnn Webb
Vice ChairTed Walker
Westbourne AcademyChairCaroline Rayner
Vice ChairVacant
ATT Further EducationChairMartin Rigley MBE
Vice ChairPeter Edwards

Accounting Officer

Debbie Clinton, Appointed 13/9/18,  Declarations of Interests –  Education Advisory Board Member for GovNet (events management company) August 2015.